top of page
Search
  • adrianmccreath

Stuck between Defeat and the New

After another season that ended with poetic levels of defeat, which is the true leafs way I have come to believe, leaf fans are left again questioning their motives. Why keep down this hallway of horrors for another season. Seattle could be a cool new team to cheer for.



But Nay Nay, I say to that. I am a firm believer in following the paths that lead to rollercoasters of emotion. And this Leafs path has led me to unquestionable growth in overcoming heartbreak and utter defeat.


So here we are again, not the most agonising defeat, but perhaps the most unjust. Not to take anything from the Habs or their fans. Was very happy for the Habs fans to be able to enjoy such a run. Ending must have been rough though.


I think this year’s grand lesson is that of perseverance and simply grinding. In need of a new level, with the same core group coming back. I can definitely use this in my life, I cannot simply give up because I have lost before.


In my personal life I have rerolled the dice, and re-rolled the dice over and over. Changing towns, careers, countries, passions, addictions. But I currently find myself in Saskatchewan, with a girl I love and I want to settle down roots. I need to just focus on what I have instead of focusing on what I lack. Trying to fill the ladder with things that are around me. Not letting set backs like a lay-off, I’m currently laid off, lead to me just rolling the dice again. But instead doubling down on what I have built.


The arch of my leaf fandom calendar; Devastating defeat, Growth, Pumped for the season. For the possibilities of greatness!


So here we sit, a week away from hockey. A week or so away from the Leafs returning. A week away from;

· Seeing what new trick Mathews has added to his basket

· What steps Willy and Mitch have taken

· Nick Robertson! And apparently Alex Steeves! (Deep dive happening on this lad)

· Bunting/Ritchie/Kase/Kampf/Ho-sang/Mrazek

· New Goal SONG!?!?!?!?


Yupp, it has returned. I am officially ready to ride this roller-coaster for another season! Hopefully a comparatively normal one at that. (covid) An Olympic year! I will definitely be getting deep into that world, once she comes a knocking.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page